Section A Oratorical Contest

The Section A Oratorical Contest is scheduled for February 10, 2024. Makeup date February 17th 2024 . Location and time TBA

Section A Oratorical Chair-person Robin Shingleton – 304-641-6343

Read more

The Oral History Project

Postcards and e-mails received by American Legion Members:

The information will be used for The Oral History Project. It is NOT a scam.

The company collects information to publish in a book and each member will have the opportunity to

purchase a book with their individual story included, along with photos.

It is a fundraiser for the Department of West Virginia.

The company has a one-time use of the mailing list, approved by National Headquarters.

Any questions, you may contact Department Headquarters.

Thank you,
The American Legion
Department of West Virginia

Read more

The American Legion, Department of West Virginia

E-mail address:

Read more

2023-2024 American Legion Riders Chapters

2023-2024 American Legion Rider Chapters in West Virginia

Wheeling Post 1 Legion Riders

Director: Jeff Spry

Assistant Director: John Powell

Sgt.-At-Arms: Kevin Spry

Road Captain: Michael Stillwell

Secretary/Treasurer:  Michelle Powell

Chaplain: Bobb Giesler

Riley-Vest Post 9 Riders

Director: James “Ray” Stump

Sgt.-At-Arms – Richard Woods

Secretary/Treasurer – Brian Krabbe

Road Captain – Phil Bevins

Martinsburg American Legion Riders Martinsburg Post 14 Chapter

Director: Vacant

Vice Director: Tom Smith

Secretary: Ken Lesher

Treasurer: Jack Lauer

Chaplain: Brian Gano

Sgt.-At-Arms: Brian Tolstyka

Membership: Matt Campbell

Historian: Gerald Kauffman

American Legion Parkersburg Post 15 Legion Riders

Director: Lee Starcher; E-mail:

Assistant Director: Paige Hardesty;

Secretary & Treasurer: Donna Starcher; E-mail:

Sgt.-At-Arms: John Knight; E-mail:

Chaplain & Road Captain: Rod Lemley; E-mail:

Historian: Dean Archer; E-mail:

American Legion Charleston Post 20 Legion Riders

Director: Vacant

Assistant Director: Vacant

Secretary: Tracy Cooper

Treasurer:  Christina Davis

Sgt.-At-Arms: Kimberly Evans

Road Captain: Mathew Monaco

American Legion Riders Point Pleasant Post 23

Meetings are held 2nd Tuesday  of each month 7:00 p.m. Post 23

Director: David McBeath,

Assistant Director: Kim Hope

Sgt.-At-Arms: Rusty See

Road Captain: Tim Roush

Treasurer: Craig Collins

Secretary: Laura Herdman

Historian: Greg Hill

American Legion Riders

Read more

Past Department Commanders (Deceased)

Past Department Commanders (Deceased)


1919*Jackson Arnold, Weston                    1920*E.H. Smith, Fairmont

1921*J.B. Nickerson, Wheeling                  1922*A. Edmiston, Jr., Weston

1923*Spiller Hicks, Bluefield                     1924*R.E. O’Connor, Elkins

1925*J.H. MCGinnis, Beckley                     1926*A.G. Yates, Grafton

1927*R.B. McDougle, Parkersburg            1928*A.E. Haan, Huntington

1929*S.C. Morris, Clarksburg                     1930*J.A. Duff, Martinsburg

1931*L.A. Johnson, Clarksburg                  1932*J.H. Thornton, Sistersville

1933*H.S. Pownall, Moorefield                  1934*H.S. Ellis, Huntington

1935*C.L. Smith, St. Albans                        1936*W.G. Stathers, Clarksburg

1937*C.E. Booth, Huntington                     1938*F.W. Turner, Charleston

1939*W.E. Nefflen, Keyser                         1940*F.B. Poling, Philippi

1941*R.C. Hall, Elkins..                               1942*R.H. Patterson, Wellsburg

1943*Heatherington, Clarksburg               1944*T.H. MCGovran, Charleston

1945*P.E. Kercheval, Kingwood                1946*R.C. Burg, Piedmont

1947*E.L. Jones, Wheeling                          1948*W.R. Fugitt, Beckley

1949*D.R. Wilson, Clarksburg                   1950*Walker Long, Huntington

1951*Frank Everhart, Kingwood               1952*Tommy E. Jones, Beckley

1953*Harry W. Miller, Fayetteville           1954*Gaujot Bias, Williamson

1955* L.O. Bickel, Fairmont                        1956*Chester Phillips, Elkins

1957*E.D. Hardman, Charleston                1958*W. Dewey Mentz, Welch

1959*Lincoln Cox, Kirby                               1960*Bonn Brown, Elkins

1961*Robert Lester, St. Albans                   1962*Jack R. Adams, Wheeling

1963*Chester M. Matney, Welch                1964 *H. Paige Bell, Parkersburg

1965*Isaac Mayfield, Bridgeport               1966*William T. Black, Bartley

1967*Richard Davies,Morgantown           1968*John A. Jones, Weirton

1969*Charles A. Kuhn, Fairmont               1970*Thomas Malloy, Parkersburg

1971* J. H.

Read more